GPANet members

Members of the Genocide Prevention Advisory Group, June 2015
 
Yair Auron              Yairau@openu.ac.il
Professor of Genocide and Contemporary Judaism, the Open University of Israel, American University of Armenia
 
Andrea Bartoli              andrea.bartoli@shu.edu
Dean, School of Diplomacy and International Relations, Seton Hall University
 
Yehuda Bauer              bauer1926@yahoo.com
Professor of Holocaust Studies, Hebrew University
Academic Adviser to Yad Vashem
 
Helen Fein                   feinhelen@comcast.net
Chairperson of the Board, Institute for the Study of Genocide
Founder, International Association of Genocide Scholars
 
Ted Robert Gurr            trgurr@aol.com
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, University of Maryland
Founder and consultant, Minorities at Risk project
 
Roy Gutman                 rgutman@mcclatchydc.com
Bureau chief, South Europe and the Gulf, based in Istanbul, for McClatchey Newspapers. 1993 winner of the Pulitzer Prize for reporting on Bosnia
Director of the Crimes of War project, aimed at increasing public knowledge of war crimes
 
Barbara Harff               barbaraharff@aol.com
Professor of Political Science Emerita, U.S. Naval Academy, also Clark University
Recipient of the Raphael Lemkin Prize, 2013
Prepares annual global assessments of countries at risk of genocide and mass atrocities
 
Birger Heldt                  birger.heldt@folkebernadotteacademy.se
Director of Research, Folke Bernadotte Academy, Sweden (on absence of leave)
Directs comparative research on successes and failures of international efforts at conflict prevention
 
Jennifer Leaning, MD SMH     jleaning@hsph.harvard.edu
FXB Professor of the Practice of Health and Human Rights, Harvard School of Public Health
Director, FXB Center for Health and Human Rights, Harvard University
Expertise in forced migration, mass atrocity crimes, and genocide
 
Eyal Mayroz                   eyal.mayroz@usyd.edu.au
Centre for Peace and Conflict Studies, University of Sydney; Knowledge Management Coordinator, GPANet
 
Liberata Mulamula           liberatamul@gmail.com
Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Tanzania
Formerly, Senior Adviser to the President of the United Republic of Tanzania and First Executive Secretary of the International Conference on the Great Lakes Region on Peace, Stability and Development
 
Tetsushi Ogata                togata@berkeley.edu
GPANet Convener, Lecturer in Peace and Conflict Studies, University of California, Berkeley; Editorial Board member of the “Genocide Studies and Prevention,” the International Association of Genocide Scholars (IAGS)
 
Eric Reeves                    ereeves@email.smith.edu
Senior Fellow at Harvard University’s François-Xavier Bagnoud Center for Health and Human Rights
website www.sudanreeves.org
 
David Scheffer                d-scheffer@law.northwestern.edu
U.S. Ambassador for War Crimes, 1997-2001
Professor of Law and Director, Center for International Human Rights, Northwestern University
 
Alex Schmid                   apshmid@gmail.com
Director, Terrorism Research Initiative; Editor-in-Chief, Perspectives on Terrorism
 
James Smith, MD           james.smith@aegistrust.org
Head, AEGIS Trust for the Prevention of Genocide, UK
 
Ekkehard Strauss          ekkehard_strauss@yahoo.com
Independent researcher and consultant on mass atrocity prevention. Adjunct professor, Griffith University
 
James Waller         jwaller@keene.edu
Cohen Professor of Holocaust and Genocide Studies, Keene State College
Director of Academic Programs, Auschwitz Institute for Peace and Reconciliation
 
Juergen Zimmerer         juergen.zimmerer@uni-hamburg.de
Professor of Modern History, University of Hamburg; Founding President, International Network of Genocide Scholars; Founding Director, Sheffield Centre for the Study of Genocide and Mass Violence
 
Associate Observers
 
Alexandre Fasel        alexandre.fasel@eda.admin.ch
Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Switzerland to the Conference on Disarmament and Special Representative of Switzerland to the Human Rights Council, Permanent Mission of Switzerland to the United Nations Office and to the other international organisations in Geneva
 
Ms. Mô Bleeker        mo.bleeker@eda.admin.ch
Special Envoy, Head task force for dealing with the past and prevention of atrocities, Swiss Federal Department of Foreign Affairs